Teacher Training Program

Three In-Depth Study Programs

Venerable Geshe Kelsang Gyatso Rinpoche, Founder of the New Kadampa Tradition, has designed three unique Study Programs: the General Program (GP), the Foundation Program (FP) and the Teacher Training Program (TTP). These in-depth study programs consist of the systematic study and practice of New Kadampa Buddhism and are especially suited to people of this modern world.

If we just dabble superficially in a spiritual path we will never gain a deep and stable experience, and our wisdom will never develop to its full potential. This is why these spiritual programs are so important. – Venerable Geshe Kelsang Gyatso Rinpoche

Teacher Training Program

The Teacher Training Program (TTP) is designed for people who wish to train as authentic Dharma Teachers in the New Kadampa Tradition. In addition to completing the study of fourteen texts of Sutra and Tantra, including the six texts studied on the Foundation Program, students are required to observe certain commitments with regard to behaviour and way of life, and to complete a number of meditation retreats each year. Click here to read more about the texts studied and the benefits.

The Teacher Training Program is not a walk-in program and enrollment is required. When TTP students sign up they have a strong intention and commit to complete the study of all 12 subjects without stopping. Students must have received Highest Yoga Tantra empowerments within the New Kadampa Tradition in order to study most of the books in TTP.  Read the commitments here.

Read a transcript of a talk given by Venerable Geshe Kelsang Gyatso Rinpoche on the benefits of the Foundation Program & Teacher Training Program here.

For more information, please contact: epc@meditateintoronto.org

Ocean of Nectar

The True Nature of All Things.

Time: Sundays 2.00 – 4.00 pm, Sundays 4.30 – 6.00 pm, Wednesdays 7.00 – 9.00 pm

Teachers: This class is taught by our Resident Teacher: Gen-la Kelsang Khyenrab.

Book studied: Ocean of Nectar – Click here for more information.

Ocean of Nectar by Venerable Geshe Kelsang Gyatso Rinpoche is the first complete explanation in English of the precious Mahayana scripture Chandrakirti’s Guide to the Middle Way, which is regarded as the principal presentation of Buddha’s profound view of emptiness.

Guide to the Middle Way, the root text of Ocean of Nectar, was translated into English under the compassionate guidance of Venerable Geshe Kelsang Gyatso Rinpoche. These precious verses are included in the back of Ocean of Nectar. Reading this profound text and listening to the verses by Chandrakirti can bring joyful and uplifting insight into the true nature of all things.

Schedule

Wed, April 13: Teaching

Sun, April 17 – 1st class: Teaching

Sun, April 17 – 2nd class: Teaching

Wed, April 20: Group Discussion

Sun, April 24 – 1st class: Teaching

Sun, April 24 – 2nd class: Memorization assessment

Mon – Fri, April 25 – 29: No Classes – TTP Annual Refuge Retreat

Sun, May 1 – 1st class: Teaching

Sun, May 1 – 2nd class: Teaching skills

Wed, May 4: Teaching

Sun, May 8 – 1st class: Discussion

Sun, May 8 – 2nd class: Teaching skills

Wed, May 11: No class (Public Talk)

Sun, May 15: No class (Canadian Festival)

Wed, May 18: Teaching

Sun, May 22 – 1st class: Teaching

Sun, May 22 – 2nd class: Teaching

Wed, May 25: Offering to the Spiritual Guide

Sun, May 29: Melodious Drum

Wed, June 1: Discussion

Break

June 20-24: TTP Guru yoga & mandala offering retreat I

Sun, June 26 – 1st class: Teaching

Sun, June 26 – 2nd class: Teaching

Wed, June 29: WFJ with tsog

Sun, July 3 – 1st class: Teaching

Sun, July 3 – 1st class: Discussion

Wed, July 6: Memorization assessment

Sun, July 10 – 1st class: Offering to the Spiritual Guide

Sun, July 10 – 2nd class: Teaching

July 11-15: TTP Guru yoga & mandala offering retreat II

Sun, July 17 – 1st class: Teaching

Sun, July 17 – 2nd class: Teaching

Wed, July 20: Discussion

Summer Break